The Capsule Wardrobe

As I start My Capsule Project journey to develop a capsule wardrobe I am thinking about my purpose in seeking to build a smaller and better wardrobe. It really all started for me when I read the book 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess {here} by Jen Hatmaker. The premise of the book wasn’t to teach the reader how to slim down their wardrobe, but rather I gleaned a better insight into how the materialism and trappings of the world drown out the voice of the Savior. As she examined several areas of life and what impact they had I her, I felt a connection in my own life. I was convicted on various levels and areas of my life. And so as 2014 was nearing my husband and I made some decisions on how to change our life in the new year. For me, one major focus would be to tackle my closet and shopping obsession.

While reading 7, one chapter and topic of the book dealt with the issue of clothing. I remember reading that Hatmaker had 300+ items of clothing. I pushed the idea of counting my clothing items out of my mind due to fear and shame of my number that would be revealed to me. Then I thought about how many dollars I have spent over the years on impulse shopping and my heart was heavy with my wastefulness. My actions and attitudes revealed my lack of stewardship with the resources I have received in this life. These actions and attitudes also revealed my struggle with having contentment.The other side of the coin is that I have always loved fashion and style which has caused me to shop for the continual new item that will make me feel {fill in the blank}. It has been an endless quest for that perfect item, which by the way has always eluded my grasp or purchasing power. Truly, because that perfect item is just simply unknown!

So 2014 entered the pages of my life. I took a vow of sorts to not shop for clothing in 2014. My goal was genuine and my heart was as well. But now after several weeks, I sense the legalism of the past creeping into my life again. That legalism has been met by incredible acts of grace. Just a few ways in which grace has been richly lavished on me: Christmas gift cards from my hubby to bless me and multiple “free item” coupons {of sorts}  that I have not ever received before. A “new” winter coat that was just what I longed for and was on my list for purchases next year, was given to me for free. These little things have reminded me that a goal is wonderful to pursue but when it becomes legalistic and attempts to squash grace then there is a problem. A BIG problem, Houston!

So keep moving forward, right? Right! Time and life are always in motion and on the move forward. Now where do I go with this challenge of “no shopping” and a capsule wardrobe project? Well, I have started some boards on Pinterest to guide me as I build a better wardrobe. You can find Defining My Style board {here} and Capsule Project board {here}. I am also going to assemble a list of classic items that every wardrobe should have. You can find those items here {of the resources I found, this one was the most clear to me}.

My goals now in summary for 2014:

  1. Continue the “no shopping” goal. {While accepting the blessings of grace so legalism will not take root in my heart. I know for me it can sprout with frustration/anger and then become a full bloom into bitterness}.
  2. Purchase well made hangers to create beauty and uniformity in my closet.
  3. Build a classic wardrobe with the pieces I own and create a list of items to purchase {later}.
  4. Define my body type, style, resolve fit issues and determine colors that are best for me.
  5. Build a capsule wardrobe{s} for seasons.
  6. Purge & purge, of course!
  7. Link up & share with others in the blog community to encourage and be encouraged.
4 thoughts on “The Capsule Wardrobe

  1. Yay! I’m glad you are on this journey as well. {Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil. For if they fall, one will lift up his fellow. But woe to him who is alone when he falls and has not another to lift him up! Ecclesiastes 4:9-10} 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

